Pattern Play

28 Jan

kate spade new york has declared 2012 to be the Year of Pattern. That seems pretty logical on the heels of 2011’s Year of Color.  Now, perhaps it reflects a lull in my personal life or my voracious curiosity, but lately I have spent a fair amount of time pondering what comes after January’s pattern: stripes.

[photo via kate spade]

If you really think about it, you need quite a few distinct patterns to fill 12 months.  Beyond the brand go-to patterns that make up my top 3, it may not be as clear cut as you might expect.  Here are my guesses:

1. Stripes
2. Polka Dots
3. Floral
4. Animal Prints – Here’s where things get tricky. ksny is historically fond of animal prints, and it might be a wee bit difficult to fill the year without breaking them out. So I’ll start with Leopard.
5. Zebra
6. Giraffe
7. Tribal/ethnic
8. Abstraction -The bucket for all those randoms and geometrics
9. Plaid
10. Argyle
12. Tweed – This could be a stretch, but I guess you can say that this includes herringbone, houndstooth, etc.

What do you think? Am I close? Missing something completely obvious? Crazy for even wondering?

9 Responses to “Pattern Play”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. February [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - February 10, 2012

    […] you may recall, I decided to make a little challenge out of picking the possible kate spade new york Year of […]

  2. April Splash [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - April 9, 2012

    […] to connect something on my original list of guesses to this ultra-specific pattern theme. Abstraction does fit the Florence Broadhurst […]

  3. May Getaway [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - May 9, 2012

    […] month’s a total win! I guessed florals, as we’ve seen a few times now. I also guessed tribal/ethnic and zebra. Score!! […]

  4. June Paisley Parade [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - June 7, 2012

    […] far as the guesses go, I can’t twist this month to fit any of my prints. It’s a little sad I didn’t […]

  5. July Abstracts [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - July 10, 2012

    […] Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner! Straight up, no playing or twisting required – abstract prints were on my original guess list. […]

  6. August Illustrative Prints [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - August 21, 2012

    […] Meh. Perhaps my joie de vivre is busted, but there’s a reason I let this go for a couple weeks before bothering to address it. Something is just not connecting with me in all this. I don’t really even feel like trying to link it to anything on my original guess list. […]

  7. September Polka Dots [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - September 11, 2012

    […] Now that I’ve posted on something other than the pattern of the month, I can post about the pattern of the month! Polka Dots. Talk about a shoe-in from the original guesses. […]

  8. October Geometrics [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - October 9, 2012

    […] back at the original guesses I’m not really sure what I was thinking — there were so many ultra specific options. […]

  9. Kaleidoscopes and Birds [Pattern Play] « virtuous wrongdoing - December 6, 2012

    […] For those of you keeping score at home, these were not on the list! […]

Leave a Reply

