Shopping Pains

31 Jan

This weekend I was happily enjoying an episode of “Royal Pains” when it happened.  I saw Paige’s necklace and my heart sort of skipped and locked.  That sounds like some awesomely-hip dance move, but instead it was this awful mix of love and loss all at once.   Paige was playing house in what I instantly recognized as a kate spade pink crystal kaleidoscope necklace that I didn’t actually recognize.

How had I missed it?  How could it be mine?  Knowing that the episodes are filmed over the summer, I had a sinking feeling.  Paige was already spotted in an H&M polka dot dress I had bought last spring that most certainly wasn’t just knocking around the stores.  I kept watching and started searching.

[photo via kate spade]

UNBOUNDED JOY!  I found a link to it on sale on none other than katespade.com and immediately reached for my credit card.  But the internet was just teasing me; it would not go in my cart.  I was off to the phone.  Travis from Texas, a lovely fellow at kate spade customer service, let me know that they were, indeed, sold out on katespade.com (duh, of course).  He checked the stores, and there was maybe one in the whole of their US store stock – at the Wrentham, Massachusetts outlet store.  Once more, I let my fingers do the dialing to my destiny.  After speaking with the sales associate, it was pretty clear that my chances were slim and she was probably not going to bother checking.  Or, my inner Gollum suspected, if she found my precious, she would keep it for herself because it had to be super cheap in the outlets.

Despondent, I went to dinner with friends and resolved to move on with my life.  It was not meant to be, but I would still keep an eye out on eBay and every other resale channel until something else caught my attention.  Sunday, while out on a shopabout, I happened upon the clear crystal version at Nordstrom Rack.  It.Was.On.  The sales associate happily searched their stock but could not find a sku for the pink.  Not to worry, I assured her, I had matters well in hand.  I purchased this lesser version and took it to Nordstrom where I had them search and search, again to no avail.

[photo via bridefinds]

You probably expect a happy ending, a tale of girl and necklace becoming one.  So far, we are not to that point in the journey.  I did find the Bryce necklace, which seems to be a suitable replacement at half the original price.  Did I mention it’s reversible, making it like two necklaces at half the price?  I feel a justification purchase coming on…

[photo via bloomingdale’s]

One Response to “Shopping Pains”

  1. Sarah R January 31, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    That pink Kate Spade necklace looks like something that’s right up my alley as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

