SAM Gauguin [On The Town]

13 Feb

This past weekend, the girls and I had a chance to attend one of the opening receptions for the latest Seattle Art Museum special exhibition, Gauguin and Polynesia: An Elusive Paradise. I highly, highly recommend this exhibit!

[photo via SAM Soap

After some wine and apps, we sat down for a lecture by the exhibit’s co-curator, Chiyo Ishikawa. She helped set the stage for everything – time and effort to build the exhibit to the historical context of Gauguin’s background and what motivated the move to Polynesia to some tips to what to expect in the gallery. (You can pick up quite a bit of this with the exhibit notes and audio tour.)

I was all set to wear my usual arty black-on-black with some pops of color, but at the last minute, literally an hour and a half before I left the house, I found a screaming deal on a dress at Banana Republic that matched the invite and some pieces I had previewed online. As one friend pointed out a while back (maybe not as a compliment), I have a real commitment to color palettes. Which led to this:

[again, someone’s not a graphic designer!]

And for the probably one blog reader who doesn’t already know me, that’s me! I would post more pics of the girls if I didn’t think they would kill me. But you know how it goes, “Why did you post that picture of me?! I didn’t know you hate me.”

5 Responses to “SAM Gauguin [On The Town]”

  1. Selina February 13, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    You looks so KSRFaboulous!!!! Love that dress on u!

    • Virtuous Wrongdoing February 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

      You’re too kind, Selina! I wasn’t sure if it was KSRF or just funky with my India jewels. Thanks for being a night owl so I have an exciting comment to respond to.

  2. Nissa February 14, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Wait! What shoes did you wear with that?

    P.S. Your India jewels still make me think I should have bought so much more.

    P.P.S. That bag is TDF!

    • Virtuous Wrongdoing February 15, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      Hey, Nissa! I wore eggplant tights and simple black wedge heels.

      And, yes, Alma pretty much makes any outfit! I could be wearing a burlap sack and still look pretty awesome when I am carrying her. (Sorry, not usually one to personify handbags, but Alma deserves it. She commands attention and respect!)

  3. Caitlin February 18, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Love this look Sarah!

Leave a Reply

