Fabric Fixation

21 Feb

True story: I’m addicted to fabric and textiles. It’s becoming a little more clear with the shopping resolution. Since I often need a quick hit of retail therapy and can’t spend a lot, fabric has become my friend. The crazier and throwbackier the better.

The phenomenon is not new–my mom used to take me and my sister on regular craft and fabric shopping jaunts as kids–it is just super-heightened of late. But where my mom could sew her way out of any MacGyver-like jam, I just collect fabric for the heck of it, thinking this will be the fabric that gets me to plug in the sewing machine.

I can’t stop myself from hitting up Walmarts in the hopes that they have not yet lost their fabric departments. Those tiny little corners are full of the best $1-$2 per yard gems found in forgotten foreign warehouses. Case in point these two lovelies I picked up this weekend for $1.50/yard.

It was useless trying to resist this oversize purple floral pattern. It was “Quality Fabric” from China that seemed anything but quality, but give me a break at $1.50. Sold!

Here’s a closeup and broader shot of a funky poly blend that seemed destined for a blouse. Hearts and spades that fit with the ksrf resolution. Again, Sold!

The weekend I was in Portland, Allie and I hit up Fabric Depot. Memories of their Yard Sale, sidewalk sale and clearance, were still vivid two years after we had been. Luckily for me, they had come to their senses and moved the Yard Sale indoors as a permanent feature/room. I picked up 2 yards of each of these fabrics at $2.50 per yard for projects TBD.

A funky blue and red ladies-who-tennis-club-it pattern? Um, duh. Sold!

The end cut of some oversize multi color floral fantasy? Cut it, lady!

A 100% silk polo/equestrian Ralph Lauren scarf lacking only some hems? Yeah, I’ll take that, too.

6 Responses to “Fabric Fixation”

  1. Selina February 21, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Say what? I am going shopping. At your house.

    • Virtuous Wrongdoing February 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Ha. I should probably let more people do that. It’s definitely time to thin the collections! Or maybe just do something with them.

      But hey, I just shopped the craft closet for treasures for you!

  2. Sarah R February 22, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    I love the tennis ladies fabric!

  3. Nissa February 23, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    The moment she walked in your house from the garage when we were little and announced she fixed the alternator on her car, your mom became my hero! 🙂

    • Virtuous Wrongdoing February 24, 2012 at 8:18 am #

      Ha! Yeah, I guess my mom can kinda do just about anything, not just sew her way out of a jam.

Leave a Reply

