Absolutely Dotty Pt. 1 [Let’s Party]

20 Jul

This past weekend we had a chance to celebrate the engagement of my lovely friend Sarah to her awesome beau, Michael. Aren’t they just adorable?! They seem so happy together, and I can only wish them more in the future!

Our ever-generous friend Caitlin decided almost instantly upon hearing the news that it was cause for celebration.  The invites were chosen, the venue picked, the date set and I was given a chance to decorate!

Signature White Engagement Party Invitations Heartfelt Happiness - Front : Black

The venue was Black Bottle here in Seattle. The entire bar has this black and white, quasi-industrial aesthetic with double height ceilings that keep the black and metal accents from being oppressive. The private bar is fairly sparse and calling out for a big, graphic moment.

I set to work gathering inspiration and ideas based on the invite and the venue. Based on the invitation alone, I thought it was best to go with something black and white and graphic with pink heart accents and maybe a little kraft. I knew that Sarah was mindful of not being ultra feminine for a co-ed party, but black and white in an industrial space is pretty masculine and leaves room for a feminine touch of pink or hearts.

 

It wasn’t long before I decided on polka dots and stripes. I’m not going to pretend it hasn’t been done before, but I was determined to make it my own.

I forced Caitlin out of her comfort zone a little bit with some DIY for the party, including these wine cork initials and the glitter heart cupcake picks.

Next post will have the who, how, where and buy of it all!

2 Responses to “Absolutely Dotty Pt. 1 [Let’s Party]”

  1. Sarah R July 23, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Thank you for such a memorable and amazingly decorated party! I loved every detail.

  2. Selina July 23, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

